Questions? Call us +44 (0)20 7836 2182

Indian Philosophy

Indian philosophy Books The term Indian philosophy (Sanskrit: Darshanas), refers to the traditions of philosophical thought that originated in the Indian subcontinent, including Hindu philosophy and Jain philosophy. Competition between the various schools was intense during their formative years. Indian thinkers viewed philosophy as a practical necessity that needed to be cultivated in order to understand how life can best be led. They centred philosophy on an assumption that there is a unitary underlying order, which is all pervasive and omniscient. Vedic mantras are recited at Hindu prayers, religious functions and other auspicious occasions.

The Vedas (Sanskrit: "knowledge") are a large body of texts originating in Ancient India. They form the oldest layer of Sanskrit literature and the oldest sacred texts of Hinduism. The various Indian philosophies and sects have taken differing positions on the Vedas. Schools of Indian philosophy which cite the Vedas as their scriptural authority are classified as "orthodox." Modern Indian philosophy was developed during British period (1750 - 1947). The philosophers in this era gave contemperory meaning to traditional philosophy. Swami Vivekananda, Rabindranath Tagore, Sri Aurobindo and Ramana Maharshi among others, interpreted traditional Indian philosophy in terms of contemperory significance.